Jou Ma Se Poes in a Fish Paste Jar.

I shagged Jethro Cave on the weekend and stole a lock of his untamed hair. Jealous?

Well unfortunately, I’m only kiddin’. Just making sure I still have your attention after what seems weeks and weeks of blog silence. Apologies for the hiatus! Four Weeks With The Queen is alive again and whilst there’s no overt sexual ventures in this particular post, there are certainly plenty of rock stars, live music and good times.

Here are the latest scribblings from my cyber diary..

THURSDAY:
Today was a scorcher, especially in the dire Inner West, so I took pleasure in heading to Kara’s lair for a midday dip in the pool before catching up with the exquisite miss Danielle.

Following that, I wined and dined Sophie and Dom at Il Baretto as a thank you treat for always splurging on their destitute, overly dependent friend (me of course).

As predicted, dinner was delicious! And I’m not just saying that because it’s my aunties restaurant. Actually now that I mention it head here to check out Il Baretto’s blog and let your mouth water over the lip-smacking gastronomic images HERE.

Here’s what we each devoured:

After our meals we headed to the discreet Fico wine bar where kind Domenico served us chilled white wine until our hearts were content.

FRIDAY:

I conducted another interview for Lip Magazine, this time with up-and-coming disco synth act Catcall. You can check out the finished product by clicking here.

SATURDAY:
Kara and I cured our hangovers/hashovers by heading to Nathan’s birthday BBQ in Balmain with a few neighbourhood friends. We spent the day with our grimy fingers in the potato salad, guzzling new-fangled strawberry ciders, playing tennis cluelessly and lazing around in the fervent sun.

That night I attended Marco’s 21st party in Leichardt and as expected got utterly legless with the girls. Nothing too spectacular to report unfortunately, the string of 21st birthdays are all becoming quite predicatable; incriminating slideshows, mortifying speeches, a sea of homemade Italian/Greek food and illegally unlimited amounts of alcohol. In other words, the perfect concoction for disaster.

TUESDAY:
This evening Patrick and I attended the Crystal Castles gig. I’m not a huge fan of their sonically devastating music but I had to tip my hat to Alice Glass who single-leggedly blew the roof off the Enmore even with a broken ankle harnessed by a crutch. The Black Keys cancelled their Australian tour because of exhaustion and Kings Of Leon because of the backline drummer’s busted arm but Crystal Castles soldiered on even with a severely injured frontwoman.

WEDNESDAY:
I’d been anticipating this day for months; a rock’n’roll/indie pop/folk acoustic-based festival featuring superb international acts as well as blossoming homegrown candidates. It was of course time for the BIG DAY OUT Festival! I’d managed to get my paws on a media pass saving myself well over $100 and even though it was predicted to be over 40 degrees that day, I battled the apocalyptic weather and had an unforgettable day.

The highlight of the day was undoubtedly DIE ANTWOORD. What a great performance by the South African zef-side trio. That was some next level shit man, BOOS! I fell in love with Ninja, Yo-Landi Vi$$er and DJ Hi-Tek all over again, even though they had me chanting “jou ma se poes in a fish paste jar” a.k.a your mother’s private parts in a fish paste jar incessantly, at an absurd volume and to complete strangers. They were highly entertaining with their myriad of costume changes, fierce attitude and willingness to crowd surf. Check out the video below!!


Our bohemian beauties – Angus & Julia Stone!

Now presenting.. Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeroes.

All bow down to the modern-aged Jesus Alex Ebert.

Wouldn’t be an Aussie festival without John Butler Trio. Lame.

Motherfuckin’ Iggy Pop.. not a bad physique for an old timer. And that luscious long blonde hair?!

Psychedelic Primal Scream. Those neon lights almost lunged me into a full-blown seizure.

Grinderman.. Perfect way to end a perfect day!

THURSDAY:

I conducted some interviews for Music Feeds whilst in the stock room of my work on my lunch break. I spoke to Dylan Baldi, from Cloud Nothings who was at the time residing in America and melted my heart with his gorgeous accent and then the everso bubbly Guineafowl from Sydney.

FRIDAY:
Tonight Tara, Sophie, Carrina, Daniel and I went to The Gaelic to check out the new venue for Purple Sneakers where one of Hannah’s friends from Brisbane was playing a gig amongst some other indie rock artists on the bill. I was reviewing the night for Music Feeds and met up with Dan their TV/Video producer who just happened to live in London at the same time as me. The bands on the bill were quite enjoyable to watch, especially the headliners Ghostwood – I’m obsessed with their latest offering called ‘Sunset Mirage’. Check it out below:

SATURDAY:
We got down and dirty (literally – my pink gown came home with dust and debris all over it from dancing feverishly all night long!) at Diana’s 21st bash. It was a pleasure catching up with all the Domremy girls, reminiscing over nostalgic photos from our high school days and erupting with laughter over the fireman stripper that was hired for the night.

What a laugh! All the mothers were drooling and pining for a go with the not-so-sexy stripper. Naturally, I spent most of my time beside the unlimited bar sucking down strawberry vodka slushies and sambuca shots.

TUESDAY:
I spent the day at Redleaf Sea Pool with Kara and Dean who were taunting me about not letting them listen to the interview I conducted with infamously mischievous American comedian Eddie Ifft. You can read the transcript here!

WEDNESDAY:
Carrina accompanied me to the Sia gig at the Enmore Theatre; what a fantastically wacky performance the soulful singer/songwriter put on! She entered the stage lathered in black body paint and was attached to a textile-based sheet of cardboard and bubble machine. And on top of that it was a sauna in there so to sport that kind of costume for a good 90mins is pure commitment to entertainment! You can read my full Music Feeds review of the show here.

‘Til next time. Laters!

x x

One response to “Jou Ma Se Poes in a Fish Paste Jar.

  1. Short, sweet and abrupt, just like u my love xx

Leave a comment